Member Care | How we support our missionaries

There are around 100 „one another“-statements in the bible – 60 of them in Paul’s letters – that describe how Christians should embody the body of Christ. These statements talk about unity, love, humbleness and several other practical areas of life. In our home church or with friends and family, mutual care in everyday life appears natural.

Julia mit Gruppe von MädchenHowever, when missionaries leave their homes, they leave this encouraging and growth-stimulating environment behind them. Missionaries enter a new culture, often in regions that have been shaken by poverty and crises – and due to their spiritual work they enter the enemy’s field of fire. Without encouragement, friendship, help, counsel and supporting prayers they often fight alone.

Missions history tells us that many of those that we consider missionary heroes today, like Hudson Taylor, Adoniram Judson or David Livingston, had to pay a high price for their ministries, even unto deepest despair and often at the expense of their families.

The truth is, of course, then and now, that the God who sends us is our companion, our rock, our provider, our help. And the Holy Spirit cares for us as our comforter, counselor and teacher. But those “one another”-phrases reveal the responsibility of sending churches and organizations towards our missionaries.

What is the use of “member care” for missionaries?

Studies reveal that the premature return of many missionaries could have been prevented by appropriate accompaniment and intervention. Good member care includes, on one hand, care for the personal well-being of the missionary and his family. On the other hand, it supports the missionary in the exercise and development of his ministry. It prepares the missionary for his tasks, supports him in his spiritual, personal and professional advancement with the aim of having a fruitful and sustainable ministry that will bring fruit which outlasts the missionary’s presence at the place of work,

Member CareGood Member Care helps us to do good missions work1], says Kelly O’Donnell, whose 5 spheres model the Member Care approach of Globe Mission is based on. O’Donnell is one of the modern pioneers for this topic and I appreciate the scope of his research and their biblically well-grounded realization.

Which areas require support?

  • Master Care- refers to a) God’s care for us, our relatioship to him, expressed in spiritual disciplines such as prayer, reading the Bible et. And b) our care for God’s cause, e.g. our service for him.
  • Self Care – the personal responsibiity of the missionary for his health and his well-being in all areas of life, Mutual Care – the local mutual support through family, friends, local church and missionary colleagues with the purpose of encouragement, accountability and correction. This sphere is the backbone of member care.
  • Sender Care – The responsibility oft he sending churches and the missions agency, in our case Globe, to accompany the missionary from the point of recruitment to retirement or return.
  • Specialist Care – this is about a professional, personal and practical supply of care in the areas of health, team building / interpersonal skills, finances/logistics, counseling/psychological help, help in crises/emergencies, family/missionary children, further training/career development, spiritual coverage.
  • Network Care – development of a relationship net on the field between various organizations/churches for mutual encouragement and support.

How does Globe put this care into practice?

ksO’Donnell’s model is ambitious and sets the bar high. In order to implement all of this, we need time and power, and we are on our way.

Caring for those that we send to the missionary frontlines is a matter of heart. This was true for Brad and Jan Thurston when they founded Globe Mission and in all the years of their ministry. The same is true for the new leaders and all staff members in the Globe center. Together we are developing basic conditions and structures that meet the needs of a growing number of missionaries. We appreciate your support in prayer a lot.

We are currently connecting the missionaries with one another for communication and mutual encouragement. In addition to this, missionary have immediate access to the Center in Hamminkeln, Germany, from where the local staff keeps the interaction with the “field staff” lively and up-to-date. This implies regular communication as well as work behind the scenes that cares for administrative security in finances and insurance. We invite missionaries for times of equipping, have a crisis reaction plan (although we hope we will never have to use it) and a collection of information about specialists which our missionaries can contact. Other areas are being developed.

We thank all of you who personally or through your church do your part in helping Christ’s ambassadors spread and live the gospel in all the world. Together, let us do all that is necessary for them to do their work with blessing and victory.

Ulrike KrallmannUlrike Krallmann and her husband Günter were the first Globe Missionaries in 1992. Since 2004, they have been living in Norway and have been working in an international teaching ministry. Find more information on their ministry here.
________________________________________
[1] Doing Member Care Well, Perspectives and Practices From Around the World, ©2002 World Evangelical Alliance Missions Commission, S. 1

Member Care | Begleitung ausgesandter Missionare

In der Bibel finden sich etwa 100 ‚einander‘ Aufforderungen – davon 60 bei Paulus allein – die beschreiben, wie wir Christen Leib Jesu verkörpern sollen. Sie handeln von Einheit, Liebe, Demut und einigen anderen praktischen Lebensbereichen. In der heimischen Gemeinde, im Familien- oder Freundeskreis gehört die gegenseitige Fürsorge wie selbstverständlich zum Alltag.

Julia mit Gruppe von MädchenDoch wenn Missionare ihre Heimat verlassen, bleibt das ermutigende und zum Wachstum anregende Umfeld zurück. Missionare betreten eine fremde Kultur, oft in von Armut und Krisen geschüttelten Gebieten, und geraten durch ihre geistliche Tätigkeit ins Schussfeld des Feindes. Ohne Ermutigung, Freundschaft, Hilfe, Beratung und unterstützende Fürbitte stehen sie mitten im Kampf allein. Aus der Missionsgeschichte wissen wir, wie viele, die uns heute als missionarische Helden vor Augen stehen, - ein Hudson Taylor etwa, Adoniram Judson oder David Livingston – einen hohen Preis zahlen mussten, hin bis zu abgrundtiefer Verzweiflung und oft auf Kosten der Familie.

Natürlich gilt – damals wie heute – dass Gott, der uns sendet, unser Begleiter ist, unser Fels, unser Versorger, unsere Hilfe. Und der Heilige Geist steht uns bei als Tröster, als Ratgeber und Lehrer. Doch die vielen ‚einander‘ Aufforderungen machen sowohl Heimatgemeinden als auch sendenden Organisationen mehr als deutlich, welche Verantwortung wir unseren Missionaren gegenüber haben.

Was ist der Nutzen von "Member Care" für Missionare?

Member CareStudien belegen, dass die vorzeitige Rückkehr von Missionaren in vielen Fällen durch entsprechende Begleitung und Intervention vermeidbar gewesen wäre. Gute Mitarbeiterbegleitung beinhaltet zum einen die Fürsorge für das persönliche Wohlergehen des Missionars und seiner Familie. Zum anderen bietet sie Unterstützung in der Dienstausübung und –entwicklung: Sie bereitet den Missionar auf seine Aufgaben vor, steht ihm zur Seite in seiner geistlichen, persönlichen und fachlichen Weiterentwicklung mit dem Ziel, einen ertragreichen und anhaltenden Dienst durchführen zu können, dessen Frucht seine Präsenz am Dienstort überdauert.

„Gute Mitarbeiterbegleitung hilft uns, gute Missionsarbeit zu machen“1], sagt Kelly O’Donnell, auf dessen 5-Sphären-Modell sich die Member Care Arbeit bei Globe stützt. O’Donnell ist einer der neuzeitlichen Pioniere zu diesem Thema und ich schätze die Bandbreite seiner Recherchen und ihre biblisch fundierte Umsetzung.

In welchen Bereichen ist Begleitung notwendig?

  • Master Care- bezieht sich a) auf Gottes Fürsorge für uns, unsere Beziehung zu Ihm, ausgedrückt in geistlichen Disziplinen wie Gebet, Bibellese etc. und b) unsere Fürsorge für Gottes Sache, also unseren Dienst für Ihn.

  • Self Care - die Eigenverantwortung des Missionars für seine Gesundheit und sein Wohlbefinden in allen Lebensbereichen, Mutual Care - die gegenseitige Unterstützung vor Ort durch Familie, Freunde, die Gemeinde vor Ort und Missionarskollegen zum Zweck der Ermutigung, Rechenschaft und Korrektur. Diese Sphäre ist sozusagen das Rückgrat von Member Care.

  • Sender Care - Die Verantwortung der sendenden Gemeinde und der Missions-gesellschaft, also in unserem Falle Globe, den Missionar von der Rekrutierung bis zur Pensionierung, bzw. der Rückkehr zu begleiten.

  • Specialist Care - hier geht es um ein professionelles, persönliches und praktisches Angebot von Fürsorge in den Bereichen Gesundheit, Teamaufbau/zwischenmensch-liche Kompetenz, Finanzen/Logistik, Seelsorge/psychologische Hilfe, Krise/Notfallhilfe, Familie/Missionarskinder, Weiterbildung/Karriereentwicklung, geistliche Abdeckung.

  • Network Care - Ausbau eines Netzes an Beziehungen auf dem Feld zwischen verschiedenen Werken/Gemeinden zur gegenseitigen Förderung und Stütze.

Wie setzen wir bei Globe diese Begleitung in die Tat um?

O’Donnells Modell ist anspruchsvoll und legt die Messlatte hoch. Um das alles umsetzen zu können, braucht es Zeit und Arbeitskraft, da sind wir unterwegs.

Die Begleitung derer, die wir an die Missionsfronten aussenden, ist Herzenssache. Das verkörperten Brad und Jan Thurston bei der Gründung von Globe Mission und in all den Jahren ihres Dienstes. Das verkörpern auch alle Mitarbeiter in der Zentrale, und gemeinsam arbeiten wir daran, Rahmenbedingungen und Strukturen zu entwickeln, die den Bedürfnissen einer wachsenden Anzahl von Missionaren gerecht werden können. Eure Gebetsunterstützung dabei schätzen wir sehr.

ksWir sind dabei, die Missionare miteinander zu vernetzen zum Austausch und zu gegenseitiger Ermutigung. Dazu kommt die unmittelbare Zugangsmöglichkeit zur Zentrale in Hamminkeln, wo auch die Mitarbeiter ihrerseits sehr bemüht sind, den Kontakt zum ‚Außendienst‘ aktuell und lebendig zu halten. Regelmäßige Kommunikation gehört genauso dazu wie die Arbeit hinter den Kulissen, die für administrative Sicherheit bei Finanzen und Versicherungen sorgt. Wir laden zu Zeiten der Zurüstung ein, haben einen Krisenplan (in der Hoffnung, darauf nie zurückgreifen zu müssen) und einen Fundus von Informationen über Spezialisten, mit denen unsere Missionare im Bedarfsfall Kontakt aufnehmen können. Andere Bereiche sind im Aufbau.

Wir danken Euch allen, die Ihr persönlich oder durch Eure Gemeinde Euren Teil dazu beitragt, dass ‚Botschafter an Christi statt‘ in der ganzen Welt das Evangelium verkündigen und vorleben können. Lasst uns gemeinsam alles Notwendige tun, damit sie ihre Aufgaben segens- und siegreich erfüllen können.


Ulrike KrallmannUlrike Krallmann und ihr Mann Günter waren 1992 die ersten Globe-Missionare. Seit 2004 leben sie in Norwegen und sind im internationalen Lehrdienst tätig. Mehr Infos zu ihrem Dienst findest Du hier.


[1] Doing Member Care Well, Perspectives and Practices From Around the World, ©2002 World Evangelical Alliance Missions Commission, S. 1